Getting Busy Fast

Hey everyone!

This week I just want to take a minute and post about how crazy busy and overwhelmed I am already.  Coming back for the fourth and final semester I imagined it to be my favourite semester, things were going to be easy and the time was just going to fly by.  Well, its been three weeks in and I’m becoming more and more miserable and stressed.  This semester seems to be the most jammed packed with the most workload I’ve ever had.  It seems I can never catch a breath.  I understand this is much like teaching and is preparing me for the crazy busy life we will soon we living, however, I feel like that is something we are in control of.  We are able to create our lessons, how things are supposed to be in our classroom and I do find that planning and organizing to be fun and not as stressful.  I guess I was just so used to being a teacher and being in control and now we have all this world that I am not sure I am finding very relevant to our futures.  Is anyone else finding the semester to be not what you expected?  Are you learning valuable things through the big projects you are having to do?  I know I will get it all done!  I just wish things were different.  Please drop a comment and let me know how the rest of you are feeling! 

5 thoughts on “Getting Busy Fast

  1. Tannis, I can totally relate to this! I only have three classes, and I love all of them (ECE 325, ECE 425, and ECMP 355). I am finding myself busy enough with these three classes – but I’m finding myself stressed about the “extra” things we have to do this semester. Things like: creating a professional resume, creating a professional portfolio, filling out job applications, applying to graduate, applying for our teaching certificate, and the list goes on! All of these type of things are stressing me out more because I know that I can get my readings and homework done successfully, but getting a job is a lot less certain! There are so many of us applying, and I like to think positively and remind myself that there is the perfect job out there for each and every one of us. But at the same time I worry about not finding the perfect job.
    I think we just need to try our best to be optimistic and remember the importance of doing the fun things! If you’re invited for supper with friends, then go. If it’s a nice day and you have the opportunity to get outside and do some winter activities, don’t turn down the opportunity. We need to strive to find the balance so that our last semester is till enjoyable! Good luck Tannis. 🙂

    • Hey Kim sorry for the late post.. As we both have said things are insane around the university and the appoint of classes and work we have. I really hope that I can take more time to be with my family and Kyle, as well as friends as it always helps me feel less stressed. I am literally counting down the days and weeks we have left, sad i know, but also very exciting!

  2. I agree with you completely. I was sad to leave my students but excited to come back- to catch a big of a break.. I expected the last semester to be nice. I’m finding myself overwhelmed with the amount of work while being in the midst of applying for jobs. It’s the first time since high school that I don’t know what’s coming next and that’s kind of terrifying.. But three months (not even) and we will hold our degrees. 🙂

      • Don’t worry about it, I think we are all feeling the pressure and overwhelmingness of our last semester! It seems everything is piling up and the semester is flying by! We’ve got this far, we’ll get through it! 🙂

Leave a comment